Balance The Heart Chakra with Self-Love

Balance The Heart Chakra with Self-Love

Balance The Heart Chakra with Self-Love

What comes to mind when you hear the words "heart health?" Probably something like high cholesterol, stroke, heart attack, and high blood pressure. Or maybe diet, exercise, and omega-3s. Right? But what about the heart chakra?

Today, we're talking to our very own holistic nurse practitioner, Sarah Harper, AGNP, about the importance of balancing our heart chakras with a bit of self-love.

First, what exactly is a chakra? Chakra is the Sanskrit word for “wheel,” and in Ayurveda, it refers to a wheel of spinning energy. Our bodies have seven main chakras aligned vertically from the crown of the head to the base of the spine. Today, we’ll be discussing the heart chakra, which is located (as you may have guessed) at the heart center.

What is the heart chakra? The heart chakra is the connecting bridge between the upper and lower chakras of spirit and matter respectively. The region includes the heart, thymus gland, lungs, and breasts. The colors green and pink are associated with this chakra, which deals with our ability to give and receive love. 

Why should we balance the heart chakra? When the heart chakra is in balance, we may feel love (for oneself and others), empathy, gratitude, and compassion, among other experiences. Remember that the heart chakra manages the thymus, which is a super important part of our immune system! In balance, one should experience a strong immune system and ability to heal.

What does an imbalance in the heart chakra look like? Imbalances caused by blockages to the heart chakra can manifest as issues with immunity, pain, low self-worth, regret, grief, hatred (towards oneself and others), and loss. 

How can we keep this chakra open and balanced? The first step is awareness. Bringing awareness to the heart chakra, or chakras in general, help us to better identify and understand the nuances of imbalances.

Here are some ways you can work on loving yourself a bit more:

  • Articulate affirmations like:
      • I completely love and accept myself
      • I am worthy and deserving of love
      • I am open to giving and receiving love
      • I live with gratitude and generosity
  • Find the right crystal(s) for you
      • Rose quartz (peace/love)
      • Rhodochrosite (fear/trauma)
      • Aventurine (abundance)
      • Jade (balance)
      • Prehnite (protection)
      • Amazonite (harmony)
  • Keep and maintain a gratitude journal 
  • Practice yoga poses that open up the chest area
      • Camel, sphynx, bridge, cobra, side angle, warrior 2, triangle, half moon, cat cowl
  • Include more leafy green vegetables and green tea in your dietary lifestyle

    “It’s important to honor the heart chakra because it connects the spiritual and the physical aspects of the self.”


    Need a little more guidance on balancing chakras?
    Our team of integrative practitioners is happy to help you identify the underlying causes of health imbalances, and the best foods and supplements to rebalance your system. Call our office to find out more: 212-989-9828.

    About Sarah
    Sarah is a holistic nurse practitioner and reiki master, who focuses on achieving wellness and vitality for her patients while utilizing a multidisciplinary approach.